Guidance

Counselors as The IncrediblesCollege Fair 2015 1College Fair 2015 2College Fair 2015 3College Fair 2015 4College Fair 2015 5College Fair 8Incredibles with Syndrome

Online Course Selection Presentation 2017-2018 • School ProfileProgram of Studies


Click here to go to the Naviance website

Simple Steps of NavianceNaviance: College Application Process overviewNaviance Registration & Common App match

What is it? Naviance is an on-line program consisting of several tools used for researching colleges and exploring careers. These applications will be used to promote college and workplace readiness. Naviance provides students with the framework to direct their own education, establish long and short-term goals, and plan for post secondary success.

How to Navigate Naviance


Find LHS Guidance On

on Twitter

Ledyard High School has a guidance staff of five counselors, who are prepared to assist students in academic, career, and personal matters. The counselor assignments for 2016-2017 are:

Mr. David Doyle, Directorddoyle@ledyard.net 464-9600 x6706
Grades 9-12: K, O
Grade 10:

Mrs. Christy Toppactoppa@ledyard.net 464-9600 x6711
Grades 9-12: D, F, G, H, J
Grade 10:

Mrs. Jennifer Allanachjallanach@ledyard.net 464-9600 x6707
Grades 9, 11-12: L, M, N, R

Ms. Brittney (Williams) Duczynski: bduczynski@ledyard.net 464-9600 x6710
Grades 9-12: Q, S-Z
Grade 9-10: P
Grade 10: R 

Mrs. Michelle Mathieu: mmathieu@ledyard.net 464-9600 x6713 or x6709
Grades 9-12: A, B, C, E, I
Grades 11- 12: P
Grades 10: N

Mrs. Rachel Powell, School Counseling Intern
rpowell@ledyard.net

Mrs. Lauren Kane, School Counseling Intern
lkane@ledyard.net

Mrs. Laura LoBianco , Guidance Secretary 
llobianco@ledyard.net 
464-9600 x6709

Mrs. Claudia Adams, Guidance Support Personnel
cadams@ledyard.net
464-9600 x6713

Mrs. Carol Schwenk, Career Development Coordinator: Grades 9-12
cschwenk@ledyard.net
464-9600 x6147

Mrs. Deborah Evans, The Learning Center
devans@ledyard.net
464-9600 x6144

Parents and students are encouraged to contact the assigned counselor for assistance and information. Consistent communication among parents, students and school is vital. The Guidance Office provides a crucial link between school and home. Students are urged to contact their counselor during study hall time, before or after school and by appointment.

Guidance services include personal counseling, career information,college research, and other post-high school planning. Students and parents are welcome to use the services of the school counselor for information regarding course selections, jobs and careers, college admissions, financial aid, College Board and other standardized testing programs, academic progress, study skills, effective communication,and other areas necessary for achieving developmental success for high school students.

The Guidance Office and our Career Center have a substantial collection of college and career resources. There are computers available to students for researching college, career, and financial aid information. Resources are available to assist students in preparation for the SAT, SAT Subject Tests, and the ACT. Scholarships are also available in the Guidance Office and Career Center. Students are welcome to access this information at any time however parents should be accompanied by their student.